Stove Efficiencies

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

RyanF

Dec 6, 2009
Northern Ontario
Hello,

I'm new to the world of pellet stoves, and I was wondering if it is possible to accurately calculate stove efficiencies with off the shelf tools. I have an IR digital thermometer, and I have been monitoring exhaust temps and heat exchanger temps, but I'm not sure if this is an accurate approach. I also have access to thermocouples and data loggers if needed. I guess I am curious how one would go about figuring this out.

Assuming that new pellet stoves acheive near complete combustion, shouldn't it be possible to extract almost all the heat from the exhaust considering that it is forced and doesn't require a draft like a wood stove?

Ryan