1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Temp probe in single wall pipe?

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by Machria, Dec 2, 2012.

  1. Machria

    Machria Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,117
    Loc:
    Brookhaven, Long Island
    Can you install a temp probe in a single wall stove pipe? Or ar they only for double wall type pipe and a surface temp should be used on single wall?

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. pen

    pen There are some who call me...mod. Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    7,218
    Loc:
    N.E. Penna
    I have a condar probe thermometer on single wall pipe (actually, I have several). It works, but it reads high because of the extra radiant heat off of the stove pipe. To compensate, so that when the needle hits the "too hot" range it's actually too hot, I moved it higher in the stove pipe.

    However, after getting this stove pipe thermometer last year [​IMG] it keeps right up with the probe thermometer. If things get too hot, they both tell me at the same time. In short, I've been very disappointed with rutland surface thermometers, and pleased with those by condar.

    That all said, if I didn't already have the hole in the stove pipe, I wouldn't be running a probe thermometer in single wall pipe.

    pen
  3. Machria

    Machria Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,117
    Loc:
    Brookhaven, Long Island
    I thought the point of the "probe" was so it got the real temp inside the pipe, and it is not affected by any radiant heat.... ?

    So you would instead just place a magnetic one on the outside of the pipe, and double it's reading to get the flue gas readings?

    Anyone else? I'm doing a new install, so what should I do? Woodstock provides 1 stove top temp gage, and I bought one of the Condor probe? Should I put that into my single wall stove pipe, 12" above the stove or what?
  4. pen

    pen There are some who call me...mod. Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    7,218
    Loc:
    N.E. Penna
    If you go with a magnetic, like the one I shown in my last post, then just use the "optimal" range on that as your guide.

    That probe is meant for double wall pipe (regardless of what the packaging may say) Double wall pipe will not be as hot on the surface, so the probe does a better job of giving an actual measurement.

    At the end of the day, a probe is really only necessary for folks who want to measure stack temps, but can't do so with a magnetic thermometer because they are using double wall pipe.

    Really, all you actually need is the thermometer provided by woodstock on your stove top where they tell you to place it. That is a good thermometer (made by condar) and has a scale on it designed for woodstock stoves.

    Putting one on the chimney pipe isn't necessarily, necessary. But, I have one because I'm the curious type.

    As I said before, next time I replace my chimney pipe, I won't be putting a probe back in single wall. It works, but the operating range on it may not be in the correct place due to it being single wall pipe.

    If you do choose to use it, I would put it higher in the chimney pipe (like 18-24 inches above the stove). That would give you your best chance at having the "optimal" range being in the appropriate position.

    pen
  5. n3pro

    n3pro Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    553
    Loc:
    Enola, PA (near Harrisburg the unknown Capitol.
    I have a probe type in my Single wall pipe. I had a magnetic but the readings seemed concerning low, the highest I was getting was 300 usually around 250. I see 800 with the Condar probe when the Rutland magnetic only shows 300.
  6. DanCorcoran

    DanCorcoran Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2,080
    Loc:
    Richmond, VA
    I have a Condar probe in single-wall pipe. I installed it as they directed (for single wall) and it seems to work fine for me. I'm more interested in relative temp than absolute accuracy... it helps me understand the balance between stove top and flue temps. I'll buy another if/when this one craps out.
  7. Machria

    Machria Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,117
    Loc:
    Brookhaven, Long Island
    Have either of you checked the accuracy of the probe on single wall pipe with a ir temp gun?

    Oh wait, you can't do that, never mind.

Share This Page