1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

The lil HI300 that could... insulation question

Post in 'DIY and General non-hearth advice' started by TTigano, Nov 28, 2013.

  1. TTigano

    TTigano Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    129
    Loc:
    Southeastern, Ma
    Well folks, this is my third year burning with this stove and as my firewood stack seasoned over the past few years, so did my love for this stove. I'm actually surprised at how well it heats the house. I've yet to turn the heat on yet in our 4 bedroom cape. My concerns though are this....just recently I realized how poorly my attic and eaves are insulated..... As a matter of fact, there is none in a large part. I am considering blown in as it is very tight in the attic and I'm not the smallest individual. I had an insulation company come out and quote $800 to do the job eaves and all but I just curious.... Don't the eaves need to be vented? Does blown in insulation still allow air movement? I don't want a few years to go down the road and all of a sudden produce respiratory problems due to mold. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Happy Thanksgiving to everyone.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. egclassic

    egclassic Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    257
    Loc:
    SW Ohio
    Yes I believe the eaves need to allow air in, as to vent the attic through the roof vents.
    They actually sell pre-formed baffles that attach to the trusses to prevent blown in insulation from blocking vents at the eave.
    Although these may be harder to install in a cape cod style home, than say a Ranch style.
    Swedishchef likes this.
  3. CenterTree

    CenterTree Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    467
    Loc:
    SouthWest-Central PA
    The eaves would need vented, but you MUST have a ridge vent ALSO. You must have both.
    Air moves across the ridge and draws from the eave vent.


    We installed new shingles last year and took advantage to add both ridge vent AND eaves vents. We have a cape cod so we had to use a special eaves vent. (since there is no room for a conventional fascia vent there.)

    I will try to find the info.
  4. CenterTree

    CenterTree Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    467
    Loc:
    SouthWest-Central PA
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 10, 2013
  5. TTigano

    TTigano Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    129
    Loc:
    Southeastern, Ma
    There are soffit vents and ridge vents as well as vents on either end of the the house in the attic.... My question is this... The soffit vents need to be able to flow air up to the attic, i get that... but does the actual roof "plywood" need vented as well.... because I could run some pipe down the eaves to vent but since the house is finished and sheetrocked I cannot install the styrofoam vents that you staple to the underside of the plywood. I'm not sure if that makes much sense but I tried...lol
  6. NRGarrott

    NRGarrott New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    Loc:
    Annapolis, MD
    Yes, the actually roof deck needs to be vented, it prevents moisture from building up on the underside of the roof deck, causing the plywood to go bad. It also prevents the shingles from getting too hot and curling. Also you don't want gable vents and ridge vents. It short circuits the venting system.

Share This Page