Thermostat faulty or something else?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Latah11

Jul 26, 2009
Vancouver, WA
I am a first-time Newbie. I don’t know where to post my question, so will post it here and perhaps be directed to the proper forum.

We have a Whitfield pellet stove, bought new in 2004. No real problems until this last year. The stove would be burning, then go in to shut down mode (fans ramping up, pellets cease to feed, etc.), then when fire was nearly out, it would start feeding pellets again and start up again. It doesn’t seem to be able to shut down by itself, but when I turn the thermostat down or off, it does what it’s supposed to.....shuts down and fire goes out. If I don’t touch the thermostat and let it try to shut down by itself....it tries, but keeps starting up again and frequently a lot of smoke gathers in the chamber, then all of a sudden POOF, the fire ignites, sending a big puff of smoke into the room. Sometimes, the fan ramps up and down and the stove just acts crazy.

Since I can avoid all of this by manually turning down the thermostat, I am of the thinking the thermostat is faulty....sending bad messages to the stove. What do you think?

The stove is thoroughly cleaned at least twice a year, so I doubt it has anything to do with that.

You're in the right place.

What type of thermostat ? If it's an electronic thermostat you can adjust the maximum number of "cycles" so the thermostat doesn't tell the stove to keep starting and stopping...