1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Timberidge 55-TRP22 Remote Thermostat

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by biohill, Nov 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. biohill

    biohill Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Loc:
    Central Ma
    Does anyone know if I can get a remote thermostat for a 2005 model? Thanks!

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,020
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    If the stove is thermostat ready you can use any millivolt or 24 volt thermo stat or remote control unit
  3. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    30,806
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    Yep. You can put one on ESW stoves manufactured after 2003.
  4. biohill

    biohill Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Loc:
    Central Ma
    I can put any brand remote thermostat? I do not have to get it from englander?
  5. Shane

    Shane Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,830
    Loc:
    Casper Wyoming
    Most stove companies want you to use their parts, but in general a switch is a switch.
  6. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    30,806
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    Ya need to check with ESW. The remote thermostat could be used on models through 2003 but the wall thermostat works with all of them. It is $46.
  7. petejung

    petejung New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Messages:
    212
    Is it true that the Englander stoves won't turn on and off with the thermostat (specifically the 25pdvc) - the thermostat only controls the heat output? Is that common for other brands, too?

    I guess, in one way, you wouldn't really want the stove to be going through startup over and over all day long, either...

    That being said, the room my stove is in usually gets up to 73+ degrees, but the rest of the house is cooler... Any suggestions on where to put the thermostat?
  8. blanc12

    blanc12 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    82
    Loc:
    Northern Maine
  9. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,075
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va
    thermostats running this model stove will allow the unit to run at the heat range you select when caling for heat , once satisfied the thermostat opens and the unit drops to a low burn just like it was turned down to heat range 1 and it will continue to run at that rate until the thermostat calls for heat again , at which time it goes back to the selected heat range
  10. petejung

    petejung New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Messages:
    212
    Thanks Mike!
  11. biohill

    biohill Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Loc:
    Central Ma
    I installed a wall thermostat, does it matter which wire goes in which terminal on the stoves board? The wire I used is two wire thermostat wire with a red and white lead. I matched up the colors on the thermostat, but I 'm curious if it matters on the stove. Thanks.
  12. blanc12

    blanc12 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    82
    Loc:
    Northern Maine
    It doesn't matter what color goes where. The thermostat acts as on (closed) or off (open).
    The only place it counts is on the thermostat it self. The instructions should show you where to put the 2 wires in a 2 wire installation.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page