1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

To build or sell.....

Post in 'Classic Wood Stove Forums (prior to approx. 1993)' started by Loueze, Oct 31, 2013.

  1. Loueze

    Loueze New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Loc:
    New Jersey
    I just bought a Blue Vermont Castings Defiant Encore. It has a 8 " chimney .... I am going to put it in my house and dont know.... All the stories of puffing griddles, reducing to 6" ... I want to know if i put the right 8" chimney and dont like the stove, can I buy a 6" type chimney stove and hook it up to the 1800 dollar 8" chimney.... I dont want to buy two chimineys....... Its going to be a free standing corner set up going through two floors and a roof.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Motor7

    Motor7 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    368
    Loc:
    East TN.
    I would not hook a 6" stove to a 8" flue.....they are designed to run optimally on whichever one they come with. If you choose 8" you are stuck with it unless you remove it and install a 6". I had the same dilema, my H1 is 8", so thought long and hard about it, but in the end I put in 25' of 8" flue. If/when I change stoves a big BlazeKing 8" will take it's place...problem solved.

    I have to add, I did 6 to 8 in my shop with an older Buck copy. It does run fine but for my home I would never do this.
  3. Charles1981

    Charles1981 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    517
    Loc:
    Michigan
    Going through two floors would suggest to me that you will have a 20+ foot chimney then? I would "assume" that would provide some good draft even for an 8inch pipe (and hopefully not allow to many back-puffing situations), but don't take my word for it. Every situation is different.

    Many issues you have described "seem" to have been with big flue diameter and short chimneys (15-18ft). Your mileage may vary though.
  4. Loueze

    Loueze New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Loc:
    New Jersey
    Thanks so much for your thoughts.... I am thinking long and hard. When I saw the photo on Craig s list, I said this stove is what I want. I like the looks. I really don't mind that it may use a bit more wood than something newer. However, I thought the brand was a good one. Now that I have this forum, my opinion must reflect that of the many, many bad reviews. Mine has a catalytic and that seems to not be a great idea. The one i have is really in good shape....This stove came from a house where the wood came wrapped in plastic and had a handle stapled to the top of the package. Very low hours, I paid 700 bucks.... Ugh I did not know until after I bought it that the 8" chimney is gone from the market I just don't want to get locked in to the 8" chimney. .
    I was hoping that if I put the 8" chimney in, that if I wanted to change the stove, and use the bigger chimney with a 6" flue stove it would be ok. .
  5. Loueze

    Loueze New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Loc:
    New Jersey
  6. fbelec

    fbelec Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,670
    Loc:
    northern massachusetts
    you should be fine going from 6 inch to a 8 inch chimney especially a 20+ foot chimney. that cat defiant shouldn't eat would but it will through some heat.
  7. Loueze

    Loueze New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Loc:
    New Jersey
    I guess I just dont understand why the Defiant (model 2190) needs such a big chimney.....for my set up, It will be almost 24' in length when I put it together. no turns and after the first ceiling, all triple wall. My thinking is that it will heat up and stay hot and draw. Does it really nee an 8" chimney 20 feet tall???? I dont know that the defiant will be the last stove I will ever have and EVERYTHING runs on 6".
    The cost savings of 6" over 8 is significant to me.
    Is it unsafe to run a 6" chimney?
    But, confusion abounds! Is Motor 7 telling me that the Blaze King stove runs on a 8" chimney????? That could make it that I am building for the future... Why would a Blaze King need a big chimney when they talk about how efficient they are and dont put a lot of heat up the chimney.. I saw a little ad on the internet and those stoves look fantastic.
    I want to go with the 6" trilple wall . Is Galvanized as good as Stainless, just cheaper?
  8. defiant3

    defiant3 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Loc:
    No. NH
    Really it's very simple: if you have an 8" chimney, then almost any stove ever made will work with it. If you go with 6", then MANY stoves will work, but not all. Like your Encore for example. AND, if you want a good night's sleep, then buy thevery BEST chimney you can possibly afford. This is not the place to economize. Get good pipe!!!
  9. altmartion

    altmartion Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    389
    Loc:
    pulaski ny
    you could have a liner installed if it is a problem.
  10. Motor7

    Motor7 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    368
    Loc:
    East TN.
    I think the BK King is the only model that has the 8" flue. If I ever replace my H1, the King is what is taking it's place...awesome stove.

    How many sq ft in your house & where is the stove going to be located?


    Oh, and you don't need triple wall inside the house unless you have some serious clearance issues & most use double wall.
  11. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    48,334
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    Triple wall chimney pipe is not better than double wall. Often it is a cheaper product. Remember though that this is chimney pipe we are talking about and not connector pipe which comes in single and double wall.
  12. altmartion

    altmartion Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    389
    Loc:
    pulaski ny
    most of all, you need to check with your local codes office. they might say something entirely different and most likely it won't make sense. lol
  13. Loueze

    Loueze New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Loc:
    New Jersey
    Thanks, now I need to find out where to buy what. . Because of my recent education, I think I am looking at a double wall ... I guess the important thing is to get a Class A 2100 degree, There seem to be "kits" that include the mounts and insulation shields. Usually , that type of packaging saves money.... Wish I could get a brand name and vendor recommendation ..... !
    I am such a cheap skate, but will always do the right thing when it comes to Electric, plumbing and now, 8" chimney .
  14. Loueze

    Loueze New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Loc:
    New Jersey
    Motor 7- Its 100 years old , 2 stories over a basement that is above ground on the lake side and below grade to let the water from the road run under the basement on the road side. about 3000 sqft of un insulated , plaster lath living space with old single pane windows on a lake. (this year) -
    The hearth will be built on the middle floor in the north east corner of the living room across from the kitchen. Right next to the Baconater's corner will be where wall to wall sliding glass doors will open to a deck facing the lake , Lots of wind, lots of cold air to heat and blow around with my new ceiling fans.
    What brand of stove pipe do I want? I'll do it once and do it right. The Defiant may be good, it may be not good , but for 700 bucks, its a great place to start, but I don't want to change the chimney.
    I now know the chimney needs to be 8" double wall, but stainless or galvanized? What is the best??? I love what defiant3 says and want to do exactly that.
  15. Loueze

    Loueze New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Loc:
    New Jersey
    Love it! I am just now realizing that i am replying improperly.... New as hell to this... Thanks. What is good pipe. I am a square D kind of electrical person. I don't mind paying for the best as long as it is the best.
    I'm on here trying to find out what kind of 8" double wall chimney to buy and from where?
  16. Loueze

    Loueze New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Loc:
    New Jersey
    about 3000 sqft of un insulated , plaster lath living space with old single pane windows on a lake. (this year) -
    The hearth will be built on the middle floor (basement, main, and upstairs bedrooms) in the north east corner of the living room across from the kitchen. Right next to the Baconater's corner will be where wall to wall sliding glass doors will open to a deck facing the lake , Lots of wind, lots of cold air to heat and blow around with my new ceiling fans.
    What brand of stove pipe do I want? I'll do it once and do it right. The Defiant may be good, it may be not good , but for 700 bucks, its a great place to start, but I don't want to change the chimney.
  17. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    48,334
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    The best pipe is probably ICC Excel, but it costs about 50% more than DuraVent's DuraTech pipe. This is what we used on our installations. No complaints here. I would definitely decide what stove is going in first. The Defiant will do the job - if it is currently in great condition. This however, is unlikely. Determine this first by close examination of the throat hood, refractory, bypass assembly, body for cracks, thermostatic damper, etc.. A rebuild is a serious undertaking so be sure you really want this stove. Ideally the stove will be in good enough condition so that this can be done in the summer a year or three from now. If you choose to get it there are some folks here that have done the rebuild.
  18. Loueze

    Loueze New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Loc:
    New Jersey
    This stove came from a home where firewood came from Shop rite wrapped in plastic. No cracks anywhere, and no warping. I havent checked the cat yet, but plan on taking a look tonight. I don't need the stove right away as I have the hearth to build and the house has a oil burner with cast iron radiators. I was told by my local stove store how these Defiants can be a nightmare with the expensive repairs.
    I paid more for it than most of the units I ran across - 700 but I think it will be a good choice. Its a later production (2190 model) and I think it has low hours. I dont mind messing with the thing while it burns , I understand that's part of the package with this stove.
    If a rebuild is required, I think that would be an interesting project. Im learning.... this forum is wonderful.

    Thanks for your recommendation, I will do that . I value experience above advertising.....
    My main concern is to get the chimney correct as I regard this as no where as changeable as the stove. so - 8" Dura Tec straight the the second story and attic and roof it will be!
  19. Motor7

    Motor7 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    368
    Loc:
    East TN.
    x2 on the duratech, reasonably priced and good quality. What I did not scrounge on craigslist I bought from DynamiteBuys....

    http://www.dynamitebuys.com/

    Get all your measurements and make a diagram of it all. Call them and ask for Sean(if he is still there...it's been over a year since I ordered) or one of their experts. Send him a pdf or photo of your diagram and he will build your system. I found them to have the best prices anywhere on the net and i shopped quite a bit....and their shipping is free.
  20. Loueze

    Loueze New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Loc:
    New Jersey
    THANK YOU!!!! X 3!!!

Share This Page