to store or not to store

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

infinitymike

Minister of Fire
Aug 23, 2011
Long Island, NY
I am brand new at this gig.
I am sick of dropping anywhere from $3500 to $5000 a year on oil.
And I live on Long Island, NY!!! Not that cold here.
I have a 1951 "L" shaped ranch about 1800 sq ft.
In the 70's the previous owner put a 2nd floor addition with 2 bedrooms and bathroom.
Originally there was no insulation in the walls.
Again in the 70's they blew some type of tannish powdery material in the walls.
Some of the house has continuous baseboard radiation and some has the original in the wall baseboard radiation (4 inch wide x 36 inches long baseboard radiation with a big 36"x36" metal cover)

Any way I really don't know which way to go.

I definitely want a gasification boiler.

I am going to leave my oil pig in place as a back up.
I dont have any storage for DHW with the oil.

I'm concerned of the climate here.
Its not that cold all the time. I start heating (very moderately) in late Oct early Nov
and go to about late april (again very moderately)
The boiler is running almost non-stop from dec to march.
it runs all summer and fall for DHW.

My concern is the fall spring and summer.
Will I do better with a storage system so I only need to burn once a day or every couple days.
Or will the wood gun do as they say it will and "turn on and off" burning the same amount of wood as a storage system will.

I am leaning towards the Wood Gun by alternative heat.
They say they don't require any storage for heat but they do for DHW.
I like the on/off feature.