Tree ID Help

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Ericl1982

Jun 4, 2014
Minnesota
I am new to identifying trees as well as wood burning. I have been working hard on my three year plan all spring and summer long. I have come across a couple of these trees. They all have been down for a couple years so I have no leaves or fruit to help me identify it.

I am located in east central MN. When looking here at what native trees are available I thinking it might be hickory or elm.

http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/forestry/education/treeforallseasons/nativetrees.html

Can some one please help me figure out what type of tree this is?

The rounds are very heavy and pretty wet. It feels like a pretty hard wood so I am guessing the weight is not all coming from the water. I just cut this one last night and split it up. The bark just seems to fall right off.

2014-07-17_07-04-06_673_zps7f37a8a4.jpg

2014-07-17_07-03-56_976_zps853f7f77.jpg

2014-07-17_07-03-33_91_zps0cf67cdb.jpg

2014-07-17_07-03-23_864_zpsff4fbc3d.jpg
2014-07-17_07-03-16_300_zps0d09edcc.jpg

2014-07-17_07-03-02_866_zpsd765964d.jpg

2014-07-17_07-02-37_907_zpsb8694707.jpg

2014-07-17_07-04-15_802_zps68c38a8f.jpg

Im just guessing but Im gonna say Red Elm. The bark looks soft to me. Like you can easily rub pieces off with a gloved hand. Not hickory. Also the proportion of sapwood to the heartwood is small. Hickory is valued for its white sapwood. There is one hickory that is mostly heartwood but I dont know which one it is.