Truck Question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
K

katwillny

Hey all,
I am new to owning a truck and I have a question regarding loading or rather unloading trucks. Today I picked up a few load so Honey Locust and Maple and on between picking up the wood and installing and messing with wood floors, I was pretty beat. After the second load I was pretty much wiped out so i decided not to onload the wood off of the truck. I guess my question is, is it bad to leave the truck loaded with a relatively heavy load overnight or even for a few days? Again, Im new to owning a truck so I dont know if the puts strain on the struts, shocks what have you.
thanks all. Still getting to know Lucile.

There's a full load of heavy black walnut on my truck right now too. I was too tired when I got home this evening and it will have to wait until tomorrow afternoon before I can unload it. I do that quite often, especially when I bring more than one or two loads home in a day. So to answer your question, I have done it literally dozens and dozens of times and my truck still sits higher in the back than in the front. I have a 3/4 ton GMC and the springs are fine in it, after many 'overnighters'......I think you will be fine.