Trying to round up some firewood in El Paso, TX. Need HELP!!!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

pyronut

Apr 5, 2011
El paso, TX
Hello everybody!!!

I have been reading the post on this website for several months and taking in as much info as I can. I really enjoy all that is offered on this site. I am fairly new to wood stove burning, in fact this past winter was our first year heating our home with wood and we absolutely loved it. Our biggest problem this past winter was being able to get good seasoned wood at a decent price in our area. We are located in El Paso, TX and are trying to get at least 5 cords for the upcoming winter. We payed about 300.00 a cord for oak this past winter and about 250.00 for a mix of pine and juniper, which is a bit costly. Any help would be appreciated on finding some hardwoods at a better price in our area. Thanks in advance for your help.

A lot of us scrounge our wood from the neighborhood. El Paso isn't exactly in the forest, but there are some trees and there probably aren't a whole lot of wood burners. There must be a tree service or two in town that cuts and trims trees, and maybe they can supply wood. If you know anybody who is having trees trimmed or removed, amaybe you can get the wood. Does the city have parks? Those trees occasionally need trimming. You get the idea.

if seasoning is the problem, buy your wood now. It should season completely in a summer in El Paso.

Thanks.
I will be contacting some local tree trimming/removal companies today and see if I have any luck.