1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Unknown Pellet Stove that needs repair- To Buy or Not To Buy?

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Jon McIver, Jan 11, 2013.

1. Jon McIver

Jon McIver New Member

http://seattle.craigslist.org/oly/app/3537836327.html

Is this worth my time? I'm new to the Pellet world, but have spent lots of time lurking/reading here.
    Is it possible the firebox could be repaired with some refractory cement, or is it a lost cause?

Thanks in advance
    Jon

Helpful Sponsor Ads!

2. Bioburner

Bioburner Minister of Fire

Loc:
    West central Mn
    Looks to need a bit of welding thats not a big deal. The bigger problem is the reason it got to hot. No overlimit switch? Early stoves did not. I would not feel comfortable with this in my home. Shed with constant attention maybe. Exaust fan probably not in good shape if fire got to it too. Are they going to pay you? 25 years old will probably need new convection fan. This is a major project IMO
    fmsm likes this.
  3. wwert

wwert Feeling the Heat

Loc:
    Northern CT.
    That looks like an Enviro EF1. If so I would grab it in a heartbeat. It does have a high limit disc, some moron probably bypassed it. worth more than that for scrap or parts.
  4. BradH70

BradH70 Feeling the Heat

Loc:
    South West NH
    If no high limit switch exists, it would be pretty easy to wire one in series with the auger motor.
  5. Bioburner

Bioburner Minister of Fire

Loc:
    West central Mn
    Still have the main issue of why the overfire. Bad control board? Or the controls all mechanical like a first gen Whitfield?
  6. john193

john193 Minister of Fire

Loc:
    Southeast PA