Vents? In chimney?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

DennisB

Oct 24, 2016
North Carolina
Hello all, new guy here. I had a company come out to clean and inspect our chimney. They pulled out our wood stove and after cleaning he pointed out two openings, one on each side of the chimney. It appears each one vents into the other flues. One is for the oil furnace, the other is for the downstairs fireplace. Three flue chimney. He says it looks like the builders didn't finish the chimney (house built in 1959). I'm no expert but it looks like it's by design to me. Both openings same size, same opposite location, about 8 inches above the opening of the fireplace. Has anyone seen anything like this? I'm posting the best pic I could get of it. Thanks! Dennis.

Attachments

• chimney.jpg
    chimney.jpg
    169.3 KB · Views: 185
Not sure what options are possible without being on site. It will partly depend on how large the interior of the chimney is. This may take eliminating the lower fireplace? Bring in a certified chimney sweep to go over options. www.csia.org Ask about installing an insert and running two insulated liners up the chimney. One for the insert and one for the furnace.

Not sure what options are possible without being on site. It will partly depend on how large the interior of the chimney is. This may take eliminating the lower fireplace? Bring in a certified chimney sweep to go over options. www.csia.org Ask about installing an insert and running two insulated liners up the chimney. One for the insert and one for the furnace.