Vermont DownDrafter

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Kiff

Dec 14, 2014
BC Canada
Just bought a house with a Vermont DownDrafter wood furnace. I am new to wood burning heat, but very excited about it. I am having a lot of trouble trying to find any information or operation how to's on the stove. I seem to have the basics down, but the flue temps seem to always stay very cool(200-250), even when heat output is great. To get the flue temps up I go through large amounts of wood and heating the house way too much.

My other question is the brochure that was left with the stove says a loaded wood box should burn for 14hrs. I can't seem to get 6 out of it when I go to bed and dampen it right down. in the morning there is only ash left.

Any basics or info on the stove would be great!

How do you measure the flue temperature? What kind of pipe do you have (single-wall, double-wall)?

What species wood do you load? Softwoods won't give you as long of a burn time as hardwoods.

Any pics?

It is a single wall 8" and I am using a magnetic gauge. I have been experimenting with maple, arbutus and fir.

Another question is that if anyone has and UL number for the stove or any sort of certification numbers that would help my insurance process and fair bit!

Attachments

• image3.JPG
    image3.JPG
    194.5 KB · Views: 1,411
  • image1.JPG
    image1.JPG
    202.1 KB · Views: 1,193