Welder advice

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

walhondingnashua

Minister of Fire
Jul 23, 2016
ohio
I'm sure there are more than a few people on here with welding experience.
I am shopping for a wire feed welder. I have experience (I am no pro but have done a bit of welding with both stick and wire). Mostly welded with an old buzz box stick, a little with a titanium 110v (no gas) and a good lincoln mig (with gas but way out of my price range). I don't need gas and I am not looking to do professional work. Just odd jobs. The max material will be 1/2."
The 2 machines I am looking at are the forney 140 (no gas but more wire speed and voltage adjustment) and the lincoln easy mig (gas but no regulator and adjustments on speed and voltage are not as good). Both of good reviews for what I am looking to do and are in my price range (around $300).
Any opinions or experience with these machines? Any other machines in my price ranges others have bought and like?

I am partial to Hobart and Miller. Lincoln are good welders also. I have a Hobart Handler180, little bigger and more expensive than you are looking at, but they have a 100 and 125 closer to your price range.

1/2" thick is super thick steel, and you will need a professional welder to handle that kind of material.