What causes Hard ashes?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi everyone this is my first year burning wood and things are going well (except the size of my woodpile) and up until recently I had just regular ashes and unburnt coals. Now over the last week or so I have noticed a hard almost crystalized ash in my firebox that comes out in large chunks. I am trying to think of what I have changed and the only thing I can think of is I am burning hotter with my fan on High. possibly more softwood too. Are these a result of an improper burning technique that I have picked up? Bad wood? Any insight would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Regency 1200i Insert
burning assorted wood ( some not as dry as many of you would recommend.)

I would think it could be from wood with too much moisture but that's just a guess.

If anyone knows what can cause it exactly I would like to know also. I think its what sometimes destroys my customers pumice bricks from Quadrafire.

I think there is an amount of silica in many wood species. You see this a lot in pellet stoves where wood is burned furnace hot. When a good, hot coal bed is established and a high silica wood is burnt, the silica seems to fuse into these clinkers. I've aslo read there are calcium and aluminum oxides in some wood. With the Jotul, I get a fair amount burning soft maple 24/7. The wood was lying on the ground for a year so it may have picked up additional sand and dirt there too.

Home Fire Prest-Logs has this info on their site: