What should I insert?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Buschpounder

Hearth Supporter
Aug 31, 2010
Weat PA
I am new to the pellet world having been heating with electric. I have a woodburning fireplace in my house that isnt used often. I thought I should put in an insert. I wanted a multifuel but may get just a pellet. The fireplace is in my living room so I need a quiet insert. I have three on my list and hope someone could provide some insight on them.

1) Enviro M55- I like this one the best but closest dealer is 3 hours away which I don't like if I have a problem. I read it was reliable and quiet. Aslo read that company customer service isnt the best.

2) St. Croix Ashby MF- I have a dealer about 1 hour away. I don't know alot about this one. Not sure if reliable, quiet or company customer service.

3) Harman Accentra-just pellet, local dealer. Read that Harman customer service is bad and that this insert is on the loud side.

What does any one think that has any of these? Any advice is appreciated.

are u lookin to stay in a certain price range?
any other dealers nearby?
an honest dealer with a good reputation is the first step to success.

I'm not too concerned about the price if I get quality. I have a Breckwell dealer close but dont think they make inserts. Napoleon dealer is close and there is a Glow boy dealer about an hour away. That's about all.

I've been using an Enviro Meridian insert for 7 years. No problems, quiet, and heats my 1400 sqft house perfectly.