1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

What to to with this electrical wire by my fireplace.

Post in 'DIY and General non-hearth advice' started by bsruther, Nov 4, 2013.

  1. bsruther

    bsruther Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    672
    Loc:
    Northern Kentucky
    I'm in the process of rebuilding my fireplace and upon removing the old brick facade, I discovered an outlet next to the opening, where my stone will go.

    I want to apply my stone directly to the existing brick, but the wire is in the way. I can eliminate the outlet, but that doesn't get the wire out of the way.

    Anyone have any ideas?

    024.JPG

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. OH_Varmntr

    OH_Varmntr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Loc:
    NW Ohio
    Find where it originates and remove it from that circuit entirely. Then you can do what you wish with that end of the cable. I always mark a cable on both ends after removing it from a circuit to indicate that it is no longer part of any live circuit.

    If the circuit remains live, the end terminations of that cable need to be accessible in a box per code.
  3. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    46,729
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    Will the stove need power for a fan?
  4. bsruther

    bsruther Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    672
    Loc:
    Northern Kentucky
    I'll probably try your idea tomorrow, but I'm concerned that whatever is on the rest of the circuit will be too much amp draw to tack on to something else.


    I've already got a wire that will come into the right side of the fire box, from the garage. It's from one of those old lamposts, out by the driveway. It was ungrounded, dangerous and not needed anyway. And it's in a really convenient place. Even if I use that wire for a stove fan outlet, It still doesn't solve my problem, the wire will still be there.

    I may just put up backer board and hide the wire along side of it.
  5. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    46,729
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    Do you know where the circuit goes after this outlet? Is the next fixture in line expendable or important? If it's essential note that you can't bury a splice in the line. That splice needs to remain accessible which means keeping the outlet or at least a junction box with a blank cover.
  6. OH_Varmntr

    OH_Varmntr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Loc:
    NW Ohio
    I should have clarified what I meant. If you can follow where this cable comes from and disconnect it from there, then you're all set. For instance, if you follow it to the previous receptacle up the wall, you can un-wire the cable from that receptacle and be good. You would basically be removing this receptacle and the wire that feeds it from the rest of the circuit, and the rest of the circuit will work just fine without it.
  7. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    46,729
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    It looks like the wire is a pass thru, with the circuit continuing on beyond it, but maybe I am mistaken. If not, it needs to be determined what else is downstream on this circuit.
  8. bsruther

    bsruther Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    672
    Loc:
    Northern Kentucky
    Exactly and that's the cause of my apprehension of rerouting it.
    I'll probably put up backer board and route it around it, I just figured maybe someone could come up with something that my feeble mind may have missed. Heck it's only 30 bucks to cover that area with board. It looks like the wire goes off to the left. I've got it pinned back, it goes straight up and exits from the brick.

    But the thing is, it's part of a continuing circuit and if I remove it, something or things aren't going to work. Even though it disappears into a brick wall, I can figure out where it comes from and where it goes, but I can't take it out of the circuit, unless I'm still misunderstanding what you're saying.
  9. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    46,729
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    Turn off the power to the circuit. Break the circuit by removing the receptacle, without cutting any wires or the wire-nutted splice in the box if there is one. Make sure hot wires are temporarily taped or wire-nutted to avoid shorts and shocks. Turn the circuit back on and find out what is not working.
  10. bsruther

    bsruther Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    672
    Loc:
    Northern Kentucky
    I'll try that tomorrow, I'll be removing the outlet box anyway, thanks.
  11. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    46,729
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    Just remember that you will need a box with an exposed cover if a splice is required there to continue the circuit.
  12. tfdchief

    tfdchief Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,331
    Loc:
    Tuscola, IL
    Can you re-rout the line side into the crawl space or the attic and there, install a junction box and rewire in a safe place to the down-stream portion of the circuit? It looks like the line side come from the attic so the simplest thing would be to pull in up into the attic and install a junction box. Then, you can run from the junction box down through the wall in some other location away from fireplace, to the down stream part of the circuit, which probably can be connected to with another junction box in the crawl space.
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2013
  13. fbelec

    fbelec Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,661
    Loc:
    northern massachusetts
    shut it off then disconnect it and pull it back down into the space below like a crawl space or basement. then junction box it. while in the basement run a new wire up the inside of the wall about 6 inches to the left and run the wire coming from above in the wall and reattach to the new outlet. if i read right you have a garage that backs up to the fireplace. if the wire coming from above is to short to run into the wall poke it thru to the garage and box it out there then run a wire from that box to the basement where you already pull down the the wire from the fireplace
  14. OH_Varmntr

    OH_Varmntr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Loc:
    NW Ohio
    That's my fault sorry. The pic wasn't clear and I should have asked.
  15. bsruther

    bsruther Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    672
    Loc:
    Northern Kentucky
    I'll put it in a covered box, but the cover won't be exposed. It will be behind the stone.


    I'll take a look at that today. The house electrical panel is directly below and when I looked, I couldn't see a wire that went up to that area. I believe the lower wire goes through the brick, to an outlet on the other side of the wall (garage). If that's the case, I'll just cover the wire with stone and move on.



    If the wire went directly down there, I could do that, but I don't think it does.
  16. tfdchief

    tfdchief Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,331
    Loc:
    Tuscola, IL
    Any junction box must be accessible without altering construction.
  17. bsruther

    bsruther Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    672
    Loc:
    Northern Kentucky
    This one won't be. It wasn't accessible before the demolition, when it had a 1-1/2 ton brick wall in front of it.
  18. tfdchief

    tfdchief Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,331
    Loc:
    Tuscola, IL
    Then it was an existing code violation. Here is your chance to correct it.
  19. bsruther

    bsruther Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    672
    Loc:
    Northern Kentucky
    I'm just looking for ideas of what to do with the wire, not an inspection.
    Thanks though.
  20. billb3

    billb3 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    3,471
    Loc:
    SE Mass
    :)
    :)
    :)


    valid concern though.
    If you've ever had a splice ( wire nuts) loosen with temp, changes, vibration, etc. and they do go bad, hidden in the wall will drive someone nuts some day. Could potentially become an expensive electrical problem, and loose connections have been known to cause fires.

    I've had to rip a wall apart to find a buried box and a splice connection that was causing a row of outlets to go open every time a truck hit a repaired section of asphalt in the street out front of the house. Resetting the VCR and alarm clock time gets old real quick.
    tfdchief likes this.
  21. bsruther

    bsruther Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    672
    Loc:
    Northern Kentucky
    I will probably solder the wires, before insulating them, so that should make a good permanent connection.
    I can't even remember how many splices I've corrected in this house, but there have been many and none of them had junction boxes.
    This will have a junction box and set in the wall with a cover.

    The wall in the picture separates the garage from the house. It's brick for it's entire length, covered by 3/4" wall board/plaster.
    I found where the wire originates in the basement and all of the outlets it powers, but I'd have to reroute it on an inside wall
    and that's just not practical right now.

    I really do appreciate all of the ideas, but I'm just looking for the best way to get the wire out of the way.

    Welp, off to the store to get some bricks and mortar, time to set the lintel and brick it in.
  22. OH_Varmntr

    OH_Varmntr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Loc:
    NW Ohio
    Bingo. That's exactly how codes become what they are.

    I'm an electrician, and when you deal with the problems that are created by people's lack of willingness to follow code or just plain old lack of sense, it gets really old really quick.
    Matt Ruggeri and tfdchief like this.
  23. bsruther

    bsruther Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    672
    Loc:
    Northern Kentucky
    So, I am lacking sense now?
  24. seige101

    seige101 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    530
    Loc:
    Palmer, MA
    Yes

    /electrician
    fbelec likes this.
  25. tfdchief

    tfdchief Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,331
    Loc:
    Tuscola, IL
    I am not a moderator but at this point I would say the OP has all the information he wants. And any further conversation is a waist of time.

Share This Page