What's the best way to burn wood with the LEAST amount of creosote?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

NewtownPA

Feb 15, 2007
Newtown, PA
I'm relatively new to the wood stove. I've been reading about creosote and chimney fires. What is the best way to burn your wood so that the chimney accumulates the LEAST amount of creosote? Also is it helpful to light a really hot fire every couple of days?

What kind of woodstove ?

As a general rule, it's best to make small, hot fires. It's also very important to burn dry wood, if you have any.

The very hot fire occasionally approach could result in a chimney fire, depending on how much creosote has accumulated in the meantime between hot fires. By making small, hot fires, you basically burn off any creosote before it has a chance to accumulate.

Let Roo know what kind of stove you have, and I'll bet he comes up with some specific suggestions.

Dry wood and active secondary combustion.

If it weren't for stovepipe thermo's what the heck would we talk about here?

I have one on the stove top and one probe type in my doublewall, they are handy.

stovepipe thermometers are good to check on things but for me its a lot better to run the stove as to make sure the wood is burning correct and I'm getting the heat i need. Now if you have a stove that is too small or running it at max all the time then yes your going to need a stove/ stovepipe thermometer.