where are the good pellets

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

dude

Jan 30, 2009
NY
This is my first year with my old whitfield pellet stove . I found it in a garage where it had been for quite a while. After figuring out how it worked I took it completely apart and cleaned it as best I could . It was rusted beyond belief and still is . Anyway , I love this thing . I have been burning pellets from home depot since october and they have been great . They are called "fireside ultra" from canada. Well home depot no longer has these pellets when I went the other day. They now have "rocky mountain pellet company " pellets , which are really not good , I am really not liking the way these burn AT ALL. So the question is where in the tri state area ny nj ct can I get those good old canadian pellets . Given the chance I will buy a pallet next time.

They are called “fireside ultra” from canada
I agree with you, they are nice burning pellets no issues.
Don't know from which HD you got yours. I got mine from CT. as all the other HD have at present times pellets from which you know they are just *&^%*&^%
You have to call on an almost daily basis to find out which ones they have in stock, it changes constantly.

I had the reverse effects from the 2 pellet brands mentioned above. I like the rocky mountain pellets and thiught the firesides left to many clinkers and ash. The rockys have little to no fines and burn well. I have been burning them for 2 weeks now and have only had to clean the stove and glass 1x.