Which stove to buy, that is the question?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Tannergirl

Hearth Supporter
Nov 15, 2007
Michigan
Great website! I would love some input on a wood stove purchase. I have been heating with wood stoves for about 10 years but finally own my own place and am buying my first wood stove. My new place is a 10yo stick built, 1000 square feet (addition on the way), cathedral ceilings with ceiling fans, standard insulation and located in Michigan. It will be the primary source of heat although there is electric heat. I am going to the next size up in stove recommendations for the square footage because I want a longer burn time and a larger log length than just 16". I am also interested in being able to cook on the stove. I like the cooking plate on the Jotul 118, and know it’s a great stove, but the shape is going to be a bit problematic so it’s not my first choice at the moment.
I am considering the following: (with hopes I don't roast myself out of the loft)

* Jotul 400 Castine
* HearthStone Shelburne
* Quadra-Fire Yosemite or Cumberland Gap

While I know all about the quality of Jotul, I am not as familiar with Quadra-Fire. I do like the fact that the Quada-Fire stoves are very heavy, have a side door, and a fire screen that does not require removal of the door. Lots of bigger stoves have those features but not in the smaller sizes that I am looking at.