Why can't stoves be advertised as coal and wood burning??

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

PAcountryboy

Jul 24, 2008
South Central PA
Sorry if this has been discussed before. I'm a newbie researching everything I can. Long story short, I would like to purchase a stove that burns wood and coal, and have come across some interesting facts. It is apparantly illegal for any stove manufacturer in the U.S. to advertise it's stove as being able to burn both wood and coal. I assume this is some sort of EPA restriction?? I have confirmed this by looking at Saey woodstoves after a friend told me that his can burn both. If you look on any U.S. site advertising Saey stoves, their model 94, 92 and Hanover stoves are listed as coal stoves. No mention of being a wood stove. But if you look on Saey's European website, it confirms that it is a dual fuel stove.

My questions are 1.) What is the reasoning behind this 2.) Would these stoves burn wood as efficiently as a wood-only stove, or at least close to it, and 3.) Are there any other stoves that fall under this same category--can burn both, but only advertised as one. (I found a V.C. stove that says it is a coal stove only on their website, but a local dealer claims I can also burn wood in it.) I can't use the Saey stoves because the clearance requirements are too high and they don't seem to make heat shields to reduce the clearance.