Wood burner newbie chimney help

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Drabe95

Oct 30, 2017
CNY
Hello all,
I recently purchased a farm house that dates to the 1870s in Central New York. The house is equipped with a brand new propane furnace but I don't really like paying for it. There is also a Kent tile fire in the basement. The stove is solid and appears to be in good condition besides a stick damper. My concern is with the chimney. There is a masonry chimney with a liner in it for the stove venting. I am preparing to clean this chimney for the season and it looks like it's a single wall pipe inside the chimney. I'm new to this, first home and first time with a stove. I want this done right and not risk my home or myself nor my girlfriend's life. How wrong is this setup. Am I stuck shelling out $509 for the liner

Hello all,
I recently purchased a farm house that dates to the 1870s in Central New York. The house is equipped with a brand new propane furnace but I don't really like paying for it. There is also a Kent tile fire in the basement. The stove is solid and appears to be in good condition besides a stick damper. My concern is with the chimney. There is a masonry chimney with a liner in it for the stove venting. I am preparing to clean this chimney for the season and it looks like it's a single wall pipe inside the chimney. I'm new to this, first home and first time with a stove. I want this done right and not risk my home or myself nor my girlfriend's life. How wrong is this setup. Am I stuck shelling out $509 for the liner