Wood Connoisseur?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Sinngetreu

Feeling the Heat
Nov 10, 2013
North Iowa
This is my first year really taking my wood seriously. Thanks to you guys, I am learning a lot about different woods and their BTU's.
Currently I am itching to clean up my Apple trees and Mulberry trees and this has me thinking; Does anyone collect different woods for reasons other than BTU's and rot resistance? How about different smells and things like that?

This is my first year really taking my wood seriously. Thanks to you guys, I am learning a lot about different woods and their BTU's.
Currently I am itching to clean up my Apple trees and Mulberry trees and this has me thinking; Does anyone collect different woods for reasons other than BTU's and rot resistance? How about different smells and things like that?