Wood id's

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

b33p3r

Feeling the Heat
Jan 29, 2008
NE Pa
Hello everyone, Pretty new to this forum although I've been hovering in the boiler room for a couple years. Now that I have my boiler in I'm trying to get ahead with my wood piles. The first two years I was cutting wood off my property and I was well aware of what I was cutting. For the first time I bought a load of hardwood logs and have a few questions. I can ID a tree by it's leaves with the help of a book I have, but when logs are dropped off I don't have a clue what I'm dealing with. No limbs/leaves. Just partial bark and splitting characteristics. I'm good with ID'ing beech and maple as long as I have a piece of bark on it. I'm good with oak ID since I have alot of it on my property and have cut and split alot of it.
So my question is, does anyone have a good way of learning to ID a piece of timber without having any foilage on it? Grain patterns/odors and such? For instance, what would be the most foul smelling piece of hardwood from N.E.Pa once it is split. I'm not talking holding it up to you nose. I'm saying as soon as the splitter goes through it you would say "That smells horrible!
I want to learn if you guys can give me some resources?