Wood options

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

snydley

Mar 7, 2008
Dansville NY (upstate)
Hi Guys and gals,
I'm a newbie here, just installed a Vermont Castings Resolute this past Jan. in my 960 sq. ft. home. It's working out exceptionally well, my only wish is that the firebox was somewhat bigger so that my overnight burns were a little longer.
Anyway, my question is what are the various types of wood you burn? I've been buying 3 face cord loads of "seasoned" firewood from a couple different people and I've found that there is as much green as there is seasoned in it. I haven't yet found a reliable source.
I have seen the picture on here of the Tri-axle loads of wood, and I'm afraid I don't have the health, (I have a heart condition), or space for that much wood. A friend of mine told me about "slab" wood from a saw mill that he gets, and also "chunk" wood from there. I'm thinking that might be a good option for me.
What are the various types of wood you guys burn?
Thanks,
Snyde

I know people that burn slab wood with good results...it's real inexpensive like about $15 a truck load. In a small house like yours it would be a good option. Oh you have to pack it tight so it doesn't overfire and burn too fast...or when you're home just throw in a few pieces and burn hot.