Wood stove and laminate flooring

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

egclassic

Feeling the Heat
Jan 1, 2011
SW Ohio
Beginning my 4th or 5th season of heating with wood (not primary source), and I'm still no expert at it.
This summer, we just remodeled our house, all new kitchen, living room etc. I installed laminate flooring in about half of the house. My concern is now with the laminate flooring getting too dried out during the winter with the stove going. I did buy a large, portable humidifier that I plan on running when the stove is running. It will supposedly do up to 9 gallons a day. Tonight I had my first fire since the remodel and after about an hour or two, I noticed the indoor humidity dropped from 51% to about 45%.
Has anyone here had any issues with their laminate flooring using a wood stove for heat?
Thanks in advance!

I always thought (assumed) that one of the "advantages" of LAMINATE was that it was more stable then real wood. No?

New laminates don't shrink and expand like the old ones did. You should be ok. Source : my brother and law who's been in flooring for over 20yrs

Your humidity is dropping because of the cold air getting in.

Reactions: Highbeam and Seanm
When laminate flooring is taken to a home the packaging needs to be opened up so that the flooring can get acclimatized to the new environments humidity before installation but I don't think the humidity will affect it much once its in place. Ive heard this about pianos and other instruments but not laminate. Ill be curious to hear other peoples opinions. I also agree with JA600Ls comment.