Woodburning Withdrawal?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

firebroad

Minister of Fire
Nov 18, 2011
Carroll County, MD
Okay folks, I was thinking it was just me, but then after reading a few posts here I am under the impression that burning wood can be addictive.
This is my first year,(fire virgin) and after a challenging winter of learning about moisture meters, IR guns, how to load, maintain and sustain an overnight burn, and what the best wood is BTU-wise, I have finally decided it is time to put the stove to sleep for the warm season.
And then I start getting this LONGING to have just one more fire, just to take the chill off the night, you know? I start fiddling with the wood, wondering if I should do some more splitting so I have plenty of dry kindling for next winter. I find myself staring into the dark, empty abyss through the ceramic glass, thinking there is something wrong with this picture.
Is it just me? Is this just another manifestation of OCD? Am I obsessed with my wood stove??;hm

Reactions: n3pro and tfdchief
I never really stop . . . if I'm not burning wood inside the woodstove I'm working on processing the wood . . . or burning some in the fire pit or while camping.

Incidentally, things are warming up nicely . . . but I still like to stay warm and so I've been lighting some morning and evening fires when need be.

Oh, good, I'm not alone.()

You are NOT alone, and you HAVE been assimilated.:cool:
Happens every year, and I know not to plan on putting the stove to sleep until sometime in the middle of May....sometimes later.