Woodstove changeout program choices

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

finnski

Oct 16, 2015
sw nh
Hi all Newbie here.
My wife and I have been going a little nuts trying to pick a new stove. We signed up for and just received a $1000 voucher to be used towards any stove we want from any of the local participating dealers of which we have visited three. We are n Sw NH and get some pretty cold winters.
The house is a wide open floor plan, timberframe with 9' ceilings and completely wrapped in foam panels and is very easy to heat. The chimney is full masonry located dead center in the house with a 48" wide x 38" deep brick hearth.
We are not 24/7 burners and are replacing our 1980 Vigilant which has always been a little big and inefficient. We burn about 1.5 - 2 cords per year and let the baseboard heat come on when we are lazy.

We have been round and round with stove size and have looked any where from a Jotul 602 up to a Jotul Greenville F45, Morso 2b, Jotul F3cb, PE aldera T4,Quadrafire 2100, Hearthstone craftsbury, Hearthstone Castleton,