2 questions...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

bmarleyzq8

Jan 28, 2017
Michigan
I'm new to the world of pellets and don't really know where to begin. I purchased a Harman Allure 50 and had it installed. My first issue is the install itself. I had a pre-purchase appointment where my dealer came to my house and looked at where I wanted to install the stove. The dealer and I both agreed on the location. Before they arrived, I actually had two hearth pad templates made out of cardboard as well as a template of the stove so that we could agree on a pad before I had one made. The dealer told me the first choice wouldn't work but the second one would. I had the pad made for a corner installation exactly the same as the template. 4 months or so later, the stove arrived and was scheduled for installation. Unfortunately due to work, I couldn't be there for the install but my wife could be. When I got home I noticed that they pulled the pad away from the wall to allow extra clearance in front of the door. So now I have about 8" of tile extending beyond the front of the door and about a two inch gap between the back sides of the pad and the wall baseboard. It was explained to my wife that they HAD to do this because of liability which I do understand but I cant leave it this way. My intention is to move the pad back to the walls leaving the stove in the same spot its in now and still leaving 4-6" of tile beyond the door. The problem is that the stove weighs a ton and there is nothing to grab on to, to lift and the stove pipe is all connected with some sort of adhesive preventing me from disconnecting it from the s