2004 Quadra fire mt Vernon starts then shuts down

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Macallan121525

Oct 29, 2018
Hartford county
Hi folks,
I'm a newbie to this forum, my story, I recently owned two 2004 Quadra-Fir MT Vernon wood stoves, on wasblack finish and one is ceramic (not that this matters) I donated one of the stoves to a young couple we know that could really us it so now I have only one Quadra-Fire ( so I can't use the other one for troubleshooting) both of these units have run flawlessly for me as long as I cleaned and maintained them. I have been successful troubleshooting them until now. ( music please). My current 2004 Quadra-Fire MT Vernon will start up and then stop feeding pellets. If I hit the reset after it shuts off it wil start up and keep running. OR if I set the unit on high (QUAD) during startup it will keep running. I cleaned the unit a few bags prior to this happening but I figured maybe I didn't clean it enough SOOOOOO I did a break down and cleaned it thouroghly again. This didn't change anything. I checked the thermocupler and it reads within specs. Checked the vacuum switch, that looks good, check the venting that looks good, the seals on the door look good ( I do wonder though if I replaced the correctly, my memory might be failing, is there a gasket on the top of the door, i don't have one, I think it not supposed to be there for air intake Yes/No?). My dog and I are receptive to some advise on what else we can look for.
Thanks ahead of time!!