2007 quad mt vernon common issues?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

pipeliner542

Nov 16, 2022
Greenfield,Indiana
I am looking at a 2007 mt vernon non ae model stove. I am new to pellet stoves but have been lurking here for a while. I want to use it for a aux heat source. It is obviously used but looks to be well taken care of. I searched all the common problems and most seem to be the newer AE models. I was considering buying something new but really didn't want to to be over 2800-3000 dollars. This one has.the porcelain coating and is nearly chip free. Owner was using it up to a month ago until.he replaced it with a harmon. With the current tax.credit still avail it would offset a new purchase. I was wondering if a stove in my price range would be as good and reliable as that one used. He is asking 2200.00 for it and that is with pellets and some extras. My biggest concern is the age of the unit and lack of info I could find on it. (Might be a.good thing) Thanks in advance for any help with my decision.

At that price, it would have to be perfect
A 16-year-old stove around here 4 to 7 hundred
and needs no work. Only Harman demands more money and they don't sell fast