Accentra keeps shuting down, could wind be effecting ventilation?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

wyopellet

Dec 27, 2006
Hi,
I am new to pellet stoves and I recently installed one in my basement with 3" flue pipe with (2) 90's and a horizontal exit run of about 3' through the foundation and a 45 elbow for final exit. It seems to work fine when the wind isn't blowing but it blows about 5 out of 7 days here in wyoming. I called our local harmon dealer and he said to go up to 4" flue pipe outside the house, so tee up off the 3" with a 4" x 3" tee and have a vertical run of 4" up to the soffit and this should solve the vent problem. The stove runs great sometimes and then the status light will blink and it will shut itself down. I unplug it clean out the burnpot and it fires right back up for awhile. but it seems to be wind related. because it will run all night long when the wind dies down. Does what the dealer says sound right? will that vertical run actually help the venting? or could I just turn the 45 elbow away from the wind and maybe this would help the venting problem.
Thank You for any advice.