Advice on stove to chimney connection

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

motorcycle07

Sep 16, 2013
Southern Iowa
Hi everyone,
I am somewhat new to wood burning but am not completely unexperienced. I have an Osburn 2200 sitting in the garage waiting on me to finish my stove room floor remodel. I was looking yesterday at the supplies I would need to hook it up to the chimney and see that I need to make some modifications to how the existing stove hooked up to the chimney and so I am here after some advice.

Details. The chimney is a 7" round clay lined masonry chimney on the exterior of a 2 story house with the stove in the mostly finished walk out basement. The stovepipe runs through the interior wall which is ~3/4" of wood paneling with some insulation fastened directly to the cement (i.e. no framing) through the foundation into a clay pipe tee. My plan is to run 7" double wall pipe necked down to 6" with two 45 degree elbows to the stove. To connect the pipe into the clay my plan was to remove a section of the second (outermost) pipe to run singe wall through the foundation and into the clay with the double wall starting at the interior side of the foundation. I planned on placing refractory cement around the outside of the double wall to seal against the of the foundation just to be safe.