Advice when purchasing used Jotul Series 8?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Cabin4kids

Nov 29, 2019
Cabin4kids
I am new to stoves but looking to buy a used stove to place in a new build cabin. I believe it is a Jotul Series 8 based on the appearance and tag on back. See photos. I noticed there is an option to vent out the top. Is there a special piece required to cover the vent that is coming out the back? Or can the round cap just be moved from the top to the back vent? And are fire bricks required for this model? Or any other things to look for before buying?

Attachments

• Screenshot_20191129-193237_Facebook.jpg
    Screenshot_20191129-193237_Facebook.jpg
    85.1 KB · Views: 424
  • Screenshot_20191129-193247_Facebook.jpg
    Screenshot_20191129-193247_Facebook.jpg
    87.2 KB · Views: 203
  • Screenshot_20191129-193301_Facebook.jpg
    Screenshot_20191129-193301_Facebook.jpg
    69.5 KB · Views: 203
  • Screenshot_20191129-193306_Facebook.jpg
    Screenshot_20191129-193306_Facebook.jpg
    112.2 KB · Views: 205
  • Screenshot_20191129-193536_Facebook.jpg
    Screenshot_20191129-193536_Facebook.jpg
    82.3 KB · Views: 187
The flue outlet on the back is reversible, but the stove does not vent out the top. This most likely is a catalytic stove. In addition to general condition and no cracks, you'll want to know the condition of the bypass, burnplates, fireback and catalyst assembly.