Alderlea T5 first burn

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

brokenback

Mar 15, 2021
Oregon
Any tips, tricks or suggestions for our first burn? Had it installed in July and we are complete newbee's with wood stoves.

Make the first fire a small one. Just use some kindling. Do it on a cooler day or night. Then make the next fire with some kindling and a few 2-3" splits. The third fire can be full sized, but I would suggest using no more than 4-5 four inch splits to get used to burning. Open up a nearby window and if you have a fan you might want to have it blowing out air from the house as the paint bakes in. Take the stovetop up to around 500-600º to bake in the paint.

Note that fully seasoned wood is critically important for good wood burning.

There is a link to starting and running an EPA stove up above in the sticky notes that can be helpful guidance in running the stove.

Reactions: brokenback
Burning this time of year is tricky because of the mild weather. Don't freak out if your draft isn't great or you get some smoke in the room when you open the door. Especially when doing break in fires. Colder temps and a warm chimney will most likely cure that issue. It's generally not the stoves fault.

I recommend top down starts especially in fall/spring.

I always burn a small one at the beginning of every season to cook the moisture out of the firebricks before firing them hard. I believe this helps prevent cracked bricks, so there is another good reason to start with a small fire. I should probably search these forums to find out if it actually does prevent cracked bricks, but I never have.