Am I starting my fires right?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

MainePatsFan

Hearth Supporter
Nov 24, 2007
Southern Maine
Hello all. I'm a woodstove newbie. I bought this small Century stove at Lowes when they first stocked them in August in anticipation of a bad heating oil season. I'm glad I did, but now I wish I had bought another cord of wood for this winter with my last oil delivery at $3.15 a gallon.

Anyway I don't think I have gotten the hang of getting a good fire started with this stove. It seems like I have to burn through 2 or 3 logs with the door cracked open before the fire will get going enough to continue to burn well with the door closed completely. If I just try to start it with the door closed, even with the air control fully open, chances are it will die out. It seems like there is not enough air inside the firebox for a fire to really get going. But it seems like I am wasting a lot of wood in the beginning burning with the door cracked open.

Am I doing something wrong? Once the fire is going, this stove burns really nice, and I love not hearing my oil boiler coming on every 15 minutes.

Thanks.

Are you using enough kindling? Firestarters make a big difference. Could also be that your wood is not seasoned properly - do you get a lot of smoke? is your wood hissing/smoldering?