American Harvest 6100 No Heat

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

bobreeves0308

Feb 18, 2021
columbus, ohio
I am new to this pellet stove stuff. I was given an American Harvest 6100 stove. My Dad installed it for one season back in 2008 and did not like it. Anyway it has taken me a while and about 4 hours of phone time with USSC but the stove is working pretty good. Mostly the front seal was creating huge problems. After that was replaced the fire is good now. But the issue is the fire box will get up to as high as 760 degrees but the bonnet does not put out anything more then 95. Not sure what is wrong. The exhaust vent is about 240 -260. USSC says that is fine. I am not sure if there is a heat exchange that might need cleaned of what. I need help. It is using 4 bags of pellets a day but does not put out much heat from the bonnet. Thanks

Sounds to me like it's filthy inside, especially the convection air distribution blower. Time to take it apart and clean it and lubricate the bearings. Curious as how you determined the temperatures..

None of them are 'plug and play, they all need regular cleaning.

I am using a hand held infrared thermometer . How do i get into that part of the stove? I have went over this thing with a fine tooth comb cleaning everything. Is it by removing the blower motors. I did not see any way in from the front.