amity coal stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

frog2002

Oct 20, 2008
nj
that season is apon us and i was caught with my shorts down.
i've been burning wood for about 15 years and switched over to coal 2 years ago.
I lit my coal stove for the first time(bought used and has no tags on it)and when i went to shake her down tonight the shaker grates broke.
Not knowing brand of the stove i just decided to buy a new stove for the first time(this will be my 4th stove)
My question is, has any body heard of an amity cs-45 coal stove? are they good,bad? I can purchase one new at what i think is a very good price.
any input is great
thanks Tony

Welcome to the forum Frog!

Does the stove maker have a web site? Pictures of the product would be helpful if all else fails.

On the other hand, do you think you old shaker grate can be wielded?

As for the shakers being repaired i'd say its a lost cause. right now i'm using a tool i made up to slide the shakers back and forth until new stove comes. I guess it was time for me to buy a new stove.
nu-tech.com is the web site and maker of the stove. the stove is made in Rhode Island

My husband and I recently purchased an Amity CS-45 coal stove on ebay from a guy in Peabody Mass (who knows nothing about coal stoves we found out). We have burned coal for several years in a Franco-Belge stove and love the coal heat.