Ash firewood

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

xrrider

Jan 23, 2017
Kentucky
After 38 years of heating with wood I find myself in a situation where I have never been and need help. The Emerald Ash Borer has decimated the ash trees here in KY and I have 200 acres with widespread dead ash.
Its hard to determine exactly when the damage first started but some of the trees are starting to fall over on their own now. I have been burning the dead on stump trees for 2-3 years now and most of the still standing wood is excellent. The more rotten wood falling over is worthless as firewood. I would really like to preserve a lot of the wood but don't know what I should do with it or if its even possible to do so for the future. I know leaving it on the stump does not always work (because of the trees that have fallen and are already rotten) So should I fell/buck the logs and store them off the ground in the open? Most of the bark is starting to fall off on its own. Or would the logs have to be stored under cover? so as not to get raided on. I would love to harvest many of these trees and have a supply for years to come. Any advise is much appreciated. Thanks Bill

Subscribing... my ash trees are doing the same thing, starting to fall over

Subscribing... my ash trees are doing the same thing, starting to fall over