assembing the stovepipe

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi. I'm new to all this. I am trying to assemble stove pipe to run up my chimney almost to the top. That will take about 18 feet. I have a bunch of 2-foot sections of pipe metal which you have to snap together to form a cylinder. That I can do. The problem I'm having then is sticking the crimped end of one into the other. Is there some sort of trick or specfial tool I need. These are not perfect cylinders - it is flexible enough that I can deform it - but after wrestling with this for about 30 minutes I realized that there must be something I'm missing here. Can someone help me?

I can post pics if necessary.

..robin

Pics would be best. With my pipe it was as simple as putting the crimped end into the non crimped end. Is this singlewall or doublewall pipe?

RobinGoodfellow said:
... I am trying to assemble stove pipe to run up my chimney almost to the top. That will take about 18 feet. I have a bunch of 2-foot sections of pipe metal which you have to snap together to form a cylinder. That I can do. ...
..robin
Are you running the pipe inside the chimney? That is what your post sounds like - if so, do not do that. Inside the chimney you need a stainless liner designed for the job.