Baker Fireside Insert - blower air restriction Problem

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

JGMann67

Dec 19, 2008
Central PA
Hello -

I'm a noob on the board here. Have been burning coal in my Baker Fireside insert for the last 8 years. The unit is an older one, manufactured in the early 80's, but in really good shape. You probably know that Baker is a local company here in northern York County. I tried searching for this answer before posting up a new thread, but got no love...

The blower motor on it is about a 70 cfm. I replaced the fan about three years ago and, it's running fine - got that typical "wahwahwahwahwah" sound and when detached from the stove seems to move a good amount of air. But, when it's attached to the stove, the airflow through the tubes is... well, nominal at best. I went out and got a new 140 cfm fan with the speed adjust and it's only marginally better on airflow through the tubes than the 70. That tells me it's something else.

I'm thinking that it might just be an accumulation of ash dust pushed into the collector at the base of the stove, restricting the air flow through the heating chamber (if that's what it's called) and out the tubes at the top front of the stove.

To check, I'm going to let my coal fire go out over the Christmas weekend, and jam a flex vaccum tube in there and see what comes out.

Any other ideas of what it might be and how to fix it??

Any direction would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Jim