Beginner looking for insert recommendation

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

superking_

Apr 5, 2017
Maryland
Hello all!

Newbie here looking for some insert recs. Been reading the forums fervently over the past few weeks. Getting a woodburner up and running has become something of an obsession.

House is an A-frame built in '69. Heat pump just doesn't cut it when it's really cold out. We had some $500 electric bills the first year. Smart thermostat and temps set around 65 helped, but we still saw some $300 bills this year, and our main floor was just too cold for us to enjoy. The house has a masonry fireplace with a hearthstove in front. Brand is treemont, label says it was tested in '86. Has 8" pipe out the back hooked up as a direct connect. Originally my plan was to just get the chimney swept and inspected and use the existing stove. I had several different sweeps come out to the house and none of them wanted to touch the thing, saying direct connect is no longer up to code in MD. One quoted me around $3900 to get an 8" liner all the way to the top and said for the same price he could install a new pellet insert and full liner. I'm not really too hot on pellet stoves, (too many parts to break and can't use it in a power outage) and I don't have $3900 laying around. So I'm hoping to go the diy route and save some money.