Best/Cleanest Method of Ash Removal

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

parodi

Oct 2, 2009
NY State
Hi folks, newbie here.

I have been using my Hampton fireplace insert wood stove and I am loving it. I am completely new to heating with wood so I hope to learn a lot here.

I did my "break-in" burns and now I'm starting to make a fire or two a day. My questions are:

How often do you remove the ash pile from the bottom of the stove? And what is the cleanest/most efficient way to do it?

Right now I am using my old fireplace brass ash shovel which is about 5 inches wide and I dump the spent ash into a metal can with a lid. But each scoop dumped releases a small cloud of ash into the air.
I'm thinking that what would be better would be something almost as wide as the bottom of the stove floor so I could get practically all of it in one large scoop---maybe cut a cheapo snow showel to fit the exact width of the stove bottom and carry it carefully through the living room to dump it outside.

What do you think of ash vacuums too?

thanks for your responses

Hey, parodi

<>How often do you remove the ash pile from the bottom of the stove?<>

Once a week or more often if you've got a LOT of ash in the firebox...

<>And what is the cleanest/most efficient way to do it?
Right now I am using my old fireplace brass ash shovel which is about 5 inches wide and I dump the spent ash into a metal can with a lid. But each scoop dumped releases a small cloud of ash into the air.<>