broken soapstone on top of stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

broken hearthed

Jan 6, 2018
West Chester PA
I have a Hearthstone woodstove and one of the soapstone tiles on the top has broken completely through. It is a clean break. Does this break cause a problem - is it dangerous? Can the stone be repaired? I've had some experience with 2 part epoxy repair on soapstone sculpture, but I can't find any information on what happens to a high-heat epoxy when exposed to temperatures higher than 450 degrees F.

I would not say it's dangerous to burn it with a broken stone, but you will probably go thru wood
faster than you normally do, since more air will be getting in.
If you are worried about CO escaping thru the break, it probably won't happen
until the stove stops drafting, but that shouldn't happen until the fire is out.
Get yourself a CO detector to be safe.
You can probably repair it temporarily with furnace cement. It WILL hold up to the high temps.
In order to replace that one stone, the ENTIRE top has to be removed.