Burning wood .... for the soul

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Hoopdancer

Sep 7, 2008
Calgary Alberta
I’m new to having a wood stove in a house. I used to live in a tepee with an 18” tin airtight stove 20 years ago for a few years and have missed burning wood to keep warm since. It’s hard to put it into words other than I think burning wood to keep warm is good for the soul. I now live in a 1,000 sq ft house (built 1954, 2x4 construction, poor insulation, changing out windows soon) and I’m looking at Hearthstone products. Being a small house I’m limited to space otherwise I would probably also be looking at Woodstock stoves. If their clearances to adjacent wall surfaces were similar to Hearthstone I might have given them a closer look. I’m taking out walls between the kitchen, dining and living rooms and will place the stove so it is very close to centered in the house with the chimney straight up. So being that the Homestead is the cleanest burning at 1.9 grams vs 2.4 – 2.7 for the other stoves, I have to assume that it burns more efficiently. With the box being so narrow I was wondering (I have not been able to see one yet) how well wood can stack inside. Anyone with any experience with this stove, your thoughts would be appreciated. I’m also thinking of the Tribute or the Heritage as the boxes are a better size (not as narrow) and both still have good clearances. The Tribute may be too small but not sure. Rated for 1300 sq ft but??? I know that the Heritage (nice side door loading) is oversize by spec but we get some weather in the winter that hovers around -45 f