Can I Add Outside Air Intake?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris611

Dec 8, 2005
This is a great forum. This is my first time here. I have spent a lot of time looking through the old posts and an learning a lot. I found this site because I was searching for a Cold Air Intake kit for my fireplace. I bought a house last fall with the fireplace already in it. Its an old Preway model 2406A. Sounds like from what I read, it's pretty cheap and inefficient. I can't afford to replace it now, and don't expect it to heat the entire house, but just enjoy the aesthetic value. I would however like to at least not lose ground in terms of the fireplace sucking in cold air though the windows, cracks, etc... to fuel the fire. I was hoping to be able to retrofit a cold air intake to help with this. Seems to make sense. It will be tight to install since there is brick around the fireplace, but I think I could get enough room. This brick only goes up about 48", so I can remove some paneling and have access to the top, sides and rear of the fireplace. Only the back wall has 4 stones protecting it, the sides are 3 seperate panels, I believe the 2nd and 3rd panels have insulation between them. Does anyone know of a kit that I can buy and retrofit to this fireplace? I have searched and read about kits, but can find noone that actually sells them. I realize I won't find one for Preway, but was hoping with some modification I can make another models kit work. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks again for a great site.

Chris

Chris