Can't figure it out

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

crs7200

Oct 17, 2008
Been a while since I've been on this forum. Right to the point...

I have been using a boiler for 7 years. Standard install with a forced air furnace system. Hot water is delivered to a water-to-air heat exchanger in the plenum of the oil furnace, using the blower from the forced air system to carry the heat thru out the house.

I have one issue that I have had for the entire time, and have never been able to figure it out. When the outside temp drops below zero ( give or take) , the system can't keep up with the heating of the house. I have to put the oil furnace on to maintain the heat. The water temp is fine, pump is fine, etc. Why is it not able to keep the house warm? As soon as I put the oil furnace on, the house heats up fine. Does the oil burner create more heat than the boiler or is it because the heat exchanger is farther from the blower? Or is it something else? This has bugged me every year, so any ideas would be appreciated, unless there is nothing I can do, and if so, I guess I'll have to just deal with it. Thanks.

Been a while since I've been on this forum. Right to the point...

I have been using a boiler for 7 years. Standard install with a forced air furnace system. Hot water is delivered to a water-to-air heat exchanger in the plenum of the oil furnace, using the blower from the forced air system to carry the heat thru out the house.