Cat running too hot

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

tdwolfe

Sep 29, 2009
Upstate NY
I am new to burning a cat stove. I purchased a used Blaze King King EKJ-1101 and put a new cat in it and a new thermometer. I have burned it a couple of times and both times the cat temp went past 2000 deg. I know that I am supposed to try and keep the cat at 1700 deg or below. What causes a cat to burn so hot and how do you regulate it. I opened the bypass as instructed but that did not do too much. What did seem to happen both burns is that later in the burn cycle (1-2 hours into it) things seemed to settle down. There is not too much to adjust on the blaze king, except the temperature dial which I have had on low both times.

How are the gaskets on the door? Could be leaking some extra air? How tall is the chimney, may need a pipe damper to slow her down?

When was the wood cut and split?

I replaced the gasket yesterday and I have not had a chance to fire it again since. The temps are heading back down though and I will try it again. The chimney about 20 foot, exterior lined masonry with two 90 deg turns. I do not think it is too much draft.

The wood is last season's wood. And it has been stored inside. Maybe it is too dry?