Catalytic Combustor question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

golf12

Oct 28, 2022
Ontario
Hi all. I ordered a replacement combustor for my 1986 Encore. The combustor for this stove is 2.5x13x2" and I accidentally ordered the 2.5x13x1" unit. So the combustor I ordered is 1" thick vs the 2" thick it came with. I have been operating this stove for 15 yrs so I know it well. I replace the combustor every 5 years so this is the 3rd one. Amazon is not getting back to me regarding an exchange or return which is of course frustrating. If they weren't so dang expensive, I'd just cut my losses and re-order the 2" unit. But this thing was $300 cdn. With all of this said. I wondered if I can get some feedback on whether or not it's really a big deal if I use the 1" thick combustor vs 2". The 1" combustor fits the stove perfectly, its just not as thick as the original. Logic dictates that I won't get quite as clean of a burn when the combustor activates but other than that I can't see any other down-side to using it if I cannot get a return or an exchange figured out. If there are any other reason's that this would be a no no. I would appreciate the input. Thanks!

I would be hesitant to use it like this. Evidently the amount of gases this stove produces, needs a certain channel length to be combusted. You don't have that now.

If this is a ceramic version (rather than metal), and you really can't get a return arranged, what about buying a second one, and slide both in? The ceramic ones will have the channels lined up (the metal substrate ones are often a bit variable in exact channel position).