Chainsaw Advice/Help.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

HisTreeNut

Minister of Fire
Nov 3, 2014
Burnsville, NC
A friend of mine is moving to Georgia and he gave me a Poulan 2375 chainsaw that he no longer needs.
It needs a new bar and a new fuel line. I am semi-mechanical but there is a reason why I cook for a living. Not my strongest suit.
1) I was going to get an Oregon bar & chain for it. It is what he used and he said they are great. Yes/no?
2) Are there any Do's or Don'ts that I should keep in mind when replacing the bar or is it a fairly straightforward thing to do?
3) Are fuel lines hard to replace? I was going to get a kit and make sure as many of the parts are as new as can be.
4) Same question...any do's or don'ts?
I know it is a light duty saw but seems to be a pretty decent saw from a few reviews I have read.
Never having used a chainsaw much, would it be a good 1st saw? Likewise. I should be able to find a manual on-line for it?
Thanks for all the help & advice. As always, it is most appreciated.

Oregon bars and chains are fine. You'll need to make sure they will fit the saw and work with each other, because there are lots of different bar types for various brands and sizes of saws. There are also many types of chain available.